Shikellamy Scout Camp Dam – pre-planning

This shows part of the dam breast and the spillway or low head portion, whatever you want to call it.

 
UPDATE: This dive has now been planned and executed. Successfully I might add.
So here is what I know of this location:

I hiked there a lot as a child with friends. We would come in from Route 183 I believe, along the Appalachian trail, to the dam, located just below the AT trail. I personally can do this hike from 183 in 45 minutes, but that’s at my pace. At a comfortable clip, this is almost a two hour hike. The water is clear….crystal clear….and cold. As kids we hiked up creek from the dam to the rock pile above, and could hear, but not see, the spring that feeds this dam. It popped in my head a few days ago, that I have never swam in this dam/pond as a child because it was just too cold. I have a wet suit now though, and am curious just what may be in there. In addition, I am doubtful anyone has ever dove this location, and if others have, it is but a handful I am sure…because who else would hike into this, uphill from the closest access (dirt road) for 1300+feet…straight up the mountain…with full gear….including a 7 mil wet suit? Who??

Me, that’s who. And if I can talk Shane into it….it’s on.

View from on top of the dam across the pond

We used to call it the ‘power dam’ as kids. We didn’t know what it was, where it came from, or what it was for. It is only recently that I looked it up to find out it’s history. I found that it was apparently built for the Scout camp back in the 1900’s at some point. As kids we tried to fish there, but I don’t remember ever catching anything, and am sure I have never seen any fish. How would they get in there? What I am saying is there may be nothing to see. Nothing at all. But we won’t know until we have tried, and hey, let’s face it, who else will have this in their log books? This makes me happy.

The dam and pond from the inlet side

I’ll add more information later, but for now this is what I have, along with some maps I pulled just a few minutes ago. Stay tuned….if you wish.

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Diving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

